Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Image
I will attempt to do so.  Why do I feel qualified for the task?  Because I’ve had a lot more experience at it than most.  You see, I’ve been at it for over a half century and have not escaped it yet so I surely can speak of it.
The way I see it,   there is only now and our only action that counts is in the way we respond to it.  What else is there really?
Now, regardless of how it came about or whether or not we had any control of the whys or wherefores, what is, IS.  There is not a cotton picken thing in the world we can do about it.  We are free to moan, groan, cuss, cry, scream or whatever but nothing alters or changes it in the slightest.  If we stumble over a stone we can curse, be disgusted with ourselves or be content with it and accept it as just another of life’s experiences.
As Chinese philosophy puts it, there is always the Yin and the Yang.  The good and bad, the up and down, etc.  We would not appreciate happiness or health without unhappiness and sickness to contrast it.   Beauty would be absolutely meaningless without ugly, etc.  So, you’re beautiful and can thank me for making you appealing.   Nothing can be defined or experienced without contrasting opposites.  Such is life and such is what we are here to experience.
I understand there seems to be an unfair distribution of seemingly bad and good in the world but this life is only a flash in the eternal scheme of things and we are aware of only a very limited perspective of the whole of it all or the wisdom behind the distribution.  I’m quite sure it is perfectly balanced in reality.
When you stop to think about it, when is it beneficial for us to be upset, angry or down in the mouth?  Or put another way, under what circumstances are we better served by being upset or angry?  Can you name one?   Has anyone in the history of the universe ever bettered or improved by such?  How does it affect our health?   Yet almost everyone falls into this trap. Yep, me too, although I know better.
We seem to think that resisting that which we find undesirable will make things better but I suggest the opposite is the case.  Carl Jung said, “that which we resist, persists”, and I believe he was absolutely correct.
I believe we move beyond the undesirable best by accepting it gratefully for the lesson it is teaching.   I suggest the key to happiness or unhappiness lies herein.  We are constantly choosing either acceptance or resistance to “what is”.This is not to say that we should not take appropriate action to improve our lot, but I believe doing so will be most effective when approached from the positive mentality of acceptance.
