Tags

, , , , ,

The following question was posted on Quora by an atheist and received several answers.  Here is the question followed by my answer.

Thanks for the question, but I can’t think of a thing I wish to ask an atheist.  I do not seek greater understanding from those who believe the greatest intelligence of the universe is limited to human understanding.  I do not seek it from those who believe the oxymoron of nothing producing something.  My reasoning does not accept that intelligence just “happened” from some spontaneous quirk out of an infinite void.  Nor do I seek it from those who believe physicality produces intelligence instead of the other way around.   I do not look for wisdom from those who assert that taking one side of an issue amounts to belief while choosing the other reflects a lack of it when no “physical” proof exist for either.  Nor do I hope to learn from those who tend to scorn others who cannot hand over proof of that which is beyond human understanding while not being able to do the same with the “belief” of their own.
Rather I seek greater understanding from those who derive their inspiration from Infinite Source as did Einstein.  Love his quotes, “Imagination is more important than knowledge”, “Logic will get you from A to Z, imagination will take you anywhere”, “That deep emotional conviction of the presence of a superior reasoning power, which is revealed in the incomprehensible universe, forms my idea of God”.   Or on the lighter side, “If you’re kissing a pretty girl while driving,
you’re not giving proper attention to the kiss”.

Mr. Einstein was an humble and humorous man who never claimed genius but stated that the information just flowed to him from a higher intelligence, just as do most creative giants as the greatest composers, musicians, authors, artists, etc.  There was no doubt in the mind of Mr. Einstein that higher intelligence existed.  What a marvelous specimen of humanity he was.

The foregoing plainly points me to look for my inspiration from that which is beyond physicality.  But, of course, to each his own.   Take something as basic to life as one human cell.  It is beyond science to know how many make up the body but is estimated to be in the range of 100 trillion. Obviously, each of these little fellows are incredibly small but behave as if they have a brain of their own.  Each one is an incredibly complex organism central to the function of the human body.  It is composed, among much other, of specific sensors that sense minute changes in body chemistry, reports such to the central nervous system where the information is appropriately responded to so that the systematic functioning of the organs and entire body is sustained.  At the more obvious level, we don’t have to think about breathing, regulating our heart beat, digestive system, etc.  Human intelligence could not begin to sustain the body even for a few seconds but somehow it continues.  This interconnected and interdependent complexity is multiplied to the infinite throughout the wonders of the universe.

There is no way human intelligence could sustain life for even a split second let alone the infinite universe.  So, if I’m an atheist, I can only say, thank God for random happenstance for it is constantly accomplishing that which is infinitely beyond the capabilities of human intelligence.

I believe the Infinite exist because my logic does not accept that there can be boundaries.  If there were, what would exist beyond them?  One guy said to me, well, nothing, of course.  Obviously, that makes no sense because if boundaries exist, there has to be something containing them and it is an oxymoron to claim nothing could contain something.  However, I realize it would be foolish of me to demand proof before I would accept such because, by definition, the finite will never prove the Infinite.

I believe we will all agree that there is a mysterious energy or force constantly at work in the universe.  Something is causing the wind to move the leaves, our hearts to beat and the planets to move.  Is that force blind or intelligently guided?  How one answers that question determines whether he accepts higher intelligence.  There is no proof to be had of either view, it boils down to deductive reasoning.

Edit

